What I’m currently reading: February edition 

img_8164

Between The World And Me  by Ta-Nehisi Coates – A must read for the world  we are living in right now. It’s basically a (very long) letter Ta-Nehisi is writing to his teenage son, explaining the history of colonialism, white patriarchy and it’s continued legacy oppressing people of colour. Most specifically he is talking about his own experience growing up as a man of colour in the USA, but to be honest I think it’s just as relevant to British experience. It’s a read that is making me think more about my white privilege (because it’s real) and I hope gives me better understanding so I can be an ally rather than yet another oppressor.

Lion by Saroo Brierley – Previously known as A Long Way Home, I went to see the film based on this book last week and basically came out going EVERYONE NEEDS TO SEE THIS FILM. I had seen numerous interviews with Dev Patel, Nicole Kidman and the real Saroo Brierley and been waiting a while for the film to be released in the UK, and to have time to go see it. I deliberately waited to read the book until after I saw the film – I didn’t want to be sitting in the cinema annoyed by parts changed or left out. Saroo tells the story of his beginnings in the neighbourhood of “Ginestlay” (Ganesh Talai), getting lost by becoming trapped on a train for two days that took him from Central India to Kolkata, life on the streets, to spending two months in an orphanage while organising for him to be adopted by an Australian family to finding his home again using Google Earth. I’ve felt very uncomfortable with international adoption for a long time, and I think this story is one people need to hear. The issues surrounding it are complex, but having met people who are transracial adoptees and hearing their experiences – there are discussions that need to be had. The book has answered some of the questions and concerns I had watching Saroo’s story unfold in the film, as well as raising more questions and ponderings but what the answer is to some of the massive social issues like children living in poverty around the world…

Penguin and Pinecone by Salina Yoon – I found this book in the Edinburgh Zoo giftshop, and came away with two copies which I’m likely going to give as presents. This story is so lovely, all about a penguin who finds a pinecone and makes friends with it – only to discover that pinecone is not coping in the penguin environment as it wasn’t made to withstand the cold temperatures of ice and snow. So penguin makes a long journey to take pinecone back where he belongs…it’s a story of love and how it multiplies!

Leave a Comment

