BK’s Grouch Cure: Double Chocolate Raspberry Brownies

Sunday, I was DONE. I was done with politics. I was done with idiots who think that gun control means taking their right to have gun taken away. I was done with God. I was done with friends. I was done with trying to find work. I was done with living on toast. I was done with being a Landlord. I was done with trying to sleep. I was done with working with Girlguiding. I was just DONE.

And so after having a rant and a cry to myself. I decided that what I was most of all done with was eating toast (in case you are wondering, this is because money is so scarce right now I’d been trying to save money by living on bread, cheese and strawberries) and that I was going to take some money out of my emergency savings and went to the supermarket to get ingredients to attempt to make Brownies. My friend K makes THE BEST brownies. I’ve never made them, but she always inspires me and encourages me to try baking and cooking. I’m an ok baker, but I’m a terrible cook.

IMG_7062

And so after looking at four different recipes for Brownies in my cookbooks, all with different quantity ratios and varying ingredients for the basic brownie mixture… I decided to experiment and make my own.

This is my own special, still tweaking pilot batch of Brunette Koala Double Chocolate Raspberry Brownies.

Ingredients:

4oz unsalted butter
4oz plain chocolate
5oz plain flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
2 tbsp cocoa powder
2 large free range eggs (beaten)
8oz fairtrade golden caster sugar
100g (just under 4oz) white chocolate chips
100g (just under 4oz) fresh raspberries

Method:

Preheat the oven to 180 (160 C for fan assisted). Melt the chocolate and butter in a saucepan. Put all the flour, baking powder, cocoa sugar and beaten eggs in a mixing bowl. Add the melted butter and chocolate. Stir until you’ve got a smooth brownie mixture. Stir in chocolate chips and raspberries. Spread evenly in a brownie pan (the one I used is about 20×30 cm I think?). Bake in oven for approximately 30 minutes. Take out, allow to cool for 10 minutes, then cut into squares and allow to cool until ready to eat.

Since making the brownies, I have enjoyed taste testing them. They were a little drier around the outside than I wanted, so I think I want to lower the temperature a little, and I’m going to try making them without the cocoa powder. I took them to my friends’ toddler group and the Mums there who gave my brownies a try seemed to like them ok. Or they were super polite and really sneaky about spitting them into baby wipes when I wasn’t looking.

But more than that, my day did actually improve. Sure, that improvement may have gone downhill since Monday evening…but if I make more Brownies, all these problems will magically get better.

Right?

Leave a Comment

