What I’m currently (or about to) start reading…

Yes, I finally finished those books, and yes, I wasn’t disciplined enough to not spend some more of my Christmas book tokens on more books before I finished the pile of 16+ books that I have bought in the last year that I still haven’t read. Yes, I know I have a book buying problem. I decided last month that books I haven’t yet read aren’t allowed to go on my bookshelf in the hope that this would give me incentive to read them and stop buying more.

It’s sort of worked. Ish.

I finally finished My Life On The Road (which was AMAZING), The Opposite of Loneliness (which I mostly loved, there were a few of the short stories that were a bit dull, but I found the non fiction essays more thought provoking) and Yes Please (a mixed bag. Some of the writing was creative, other parts felt really narcissistic, bits of it just felt lazy).

The books I’m currently reading…

Reasons To Stay Alive by Matt Haig – Matt Haig started following me on twitter for a bit, and I didn’t realise who he was at first. I loved his children’s book ‘A Boy Called Christmas‘ and had his non fiction book on depression recommended to me by a friend. I’ve struggled with depression and over winter often suffer from SAD. The last eight years in Edinburgh have been very depressing and I wasn’t sure if this book was a good idea to read. However, it’s short chapters, varying types of writing styles and honesty make it a very easy read. Even if Matt decided he didn’t like Inside Out*, I love his books and I still follow him on twitter. 🙂

*basically my favourite film of 2015, and I’ve now lost count how many times I’ve watched it. I love it that much.

All The Sad Young Men by F. Scott Fitzgerald – This book I’ve been reading for ages too. Like over a year. It goes in my handbag, comes out of my handbag, goes missing under a pile of Girlguiding and uni work, appears again… because it’s a collection of short stories it’s the perfect ‘handbag’ book. I can read a story while I’m in a café or standing in a doorway waiting to meet a friend. I still find his snobbery and racist mindset which comes out in his writing difficult to deal with, but sometimes I think that’s why the arts are so important. It brings into light so many complex social issues.

Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie – This is a book that has been sitting on my bookshelf for far too long. Do you ever buy a book where you are so excited to read it you kind of save it? I do this when I get a box of chocolates too – I like to save my favourites until last. Longtime blog followers will know that Chimamanda is basically a hero of mine ever since I found her TED talk just saying EVERYTHING that my friend and I got bugged about when we were in South Africa back in 2009. I really hope that more authors, actors and filmmakers spring up from around the African countries so people discover the vibrancy and variety in all the stories to be told across that continent. And I’m super excited that Lupita Nyong’o has been given permission to produce a film based on this book. Lupita’s co-star in 12 Years A Slave, Chiwetel Ejiofor acted in a film adaptation of Half of a Yellow Sun, which is another of Adichie’s books. 

How To Make a Woman by Caitlin Moran – I was excited that the book I got free at Caitlin Moran’s event in Glasgow last year was going to be April’s Our Shared Shelf book. Then I realised that I have got the sequel – How To Build A Girl. Off to the bookshop I go…!

Leave a Comment

