They told me…

IMG_6558

So they told me I needed to wear contact lenses, because glasses don’t make me look so pretty. After all no one on TV wears them all day long…

They told me I needed to dye my hair blonde, because blondes have more fun (plus grey hairs are evil and make me seem like I’m worthless. Hair dye is all about being ‘worth it’)…

When nine sets of friends got married in the same year, I got told that I needed to buy nine different outfits. It would be terrible to see the same outfit in the different wedding photos. Yet the boys wear the same kilt. Huh…

They told me I needed to buy serums, conditioners, ceramic straighteners. Because frizzy wavy hair doesn’t float and shimmer like straight hair does…

They told me spots were bad, dark circles were awful and the way to fix this was lots of expensive make up. Who cares if it was killing the environment or animals to produce it?

My African friends got told to lighten their skin with potions and lotions. Pasty girls like me got told to darken their skin by baking under sunlight. What did it matter if I got melanoma?

They told me I couldn’t be on the school football team. Because on the telly, only boys play football, and I didn’t have a penis. Girls don’t want to play football. Or can’t. Or something like that…

When I grew breasts, they told me I should flaunt them. After all, I had frizzy hair, pasty skin and four eyes. Big boobs are newsworthy, and take attention away from your head.

They told me I had to wear skirts, because jeans are made me unfeminine. But don’t cartwheel because it’s unladylike to reveal your knickers. Wouldn’t have happened if I’d been wearing jeans…

They told me I had to let boys chase me and wait around for ‘the one’. Because I need a boy to accompany me before I can do my own dream chasing…

They told me if I fell  in love, I had to give  up my name. It’s just the way it is, and apparently it’s so romantic…

…and then somewhere along the way, I realise someone was trying to make money out of telling me how I should be. Because not being able to see means I won’t learn as well, contact lenses, make up, lotions and potions, heels, bags, dresses, straighteners, hair dyes…they all cost money. But some people see me as a threat, because if the world was a better place, they would have to give up their greed. And breasts aren’t supposed to be news. And I could cover up, wear comfortable clothes and chase my dreams by being simply…me.

A well named frizzy haired, bespectacled, greying, single woman who likes to decorate her head with earrings more than face paint, cartwheel on beaches and keep her breasts underneath a cosy warm hoodie. A woman who would rather spend her money on a 100 hundred books than 10 fancy outfits, who understands that she doesn’t need one particular person but a whole posse of diverse people to go chase her dreams of seeing the world become the way it was always supposed to be…

..equal.

Happy International Women’s Day.

I found some other people to listen to…they like me as I am.

PS – There’s also a whole host of folks (including me) linking up posts inspired by International Women’s Day over on Lucy’s blog: Lulastic and the Hippy Shake. Do go check them out, and feel free to link up your own blog post if you’ve written something for IWD 2016!

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “They told me…

  1. lulastic says:

    Wow, this is incredibly powerful… I think you’d like another blog especially in the blog link up, it’s a similar theme – Lisa Orr – th importance of being you 🙂
    So glad you linked up! Happy international women’s day!

    Like

Leave a Comment

