2015: My year in review

What, for you, was the high point of 2015? Were there any other highlights?

There were two highlights – one was the Guides’ doing their Free Being Me photography project and exhibition. It was a lot of hard work and involved a lot of extra hours, but so worth it. The other was going to see the World Gymnastics Championships in my home country – something I had dreamed of since I was 12.

What, for you, was the low point of 2015?

Unemployment and watching so many lose parents and children.

Tell me some things you learned this year.

 

I learned that I’m terrible at making milk foam, I learned how awful the Job Centre is and that you can work as hard as you like but it’s more about luck and who you know than your abilities. I learned that I still have the ability to rock a baby to sleep, that I can love something I’m not very good at, and that I can still lead worship with my voice.

 Who would be your “person of 2015″? It could be someone you know or a famous person who’s inspired you.

 

Hmm…I think that Malala Yousafzai continues to keep coming back as my person of the year. Though I’ve been impressed and inspired by Emma Watson too and her He for She campaign.

What was the best film you saw this year?

Inside Out.

It was one of the few times I got to the cinema, and I got it on DVD the day it come out and I’ve watched it several times since.

And what was the worst?

I choose the movies I see very carefully as I so rarely get to the cinema!

What was the best book you read?

David and Goliath by Malcolm Gladwell

It really inspired and encouraged me, and had me thinking about everything I’ve learned in the last two years.

What was the best thing you saw on TV?

I still love The Graham Norton Show – it’s really the only thing I’ve watched on TV this year.

What, for you, was the sporting highlight of 2015?

 

Watching our British women win Bronze together at Worlds. I did cry.

What was the best album or song you heard in 2015? What song did you play most?

 

I bought Death Cab for Cutie’s Kintsugi album, then I got to go see them play live in Glasgow in November. It was amazing.

As for the song I’ve played the most it probably ended up being ‘Uptown Funk’ by Bruno Mars and Mark Ronson…I don’t know what it is but I can’t not dance to that song.

What are you looking forward to in 2016?

I’m hoping to have more weekends free in 2016…and I’m looking forward to that possibility. And I’m hoping the same as last year – to graduate in December. I got my diploma, now time to get that Masters!

Leave a Comment

