Christmassy HodgePodge

As always, if you’d like to join in, hop over to Joyce’s blog to find the questions and links to all of today’s HodgePodgers by clicking on the button below.
1.  Many families have a story they love to tell every year around a holiday. Does your family have one? Are you the star of that story, or does another family member take center stage? Share your story if you want.

There are a few I guess. My Mum likes to talk about the Christmas she got me a 99p plastic diamond ring (I’d been wishing for a diamond ring for at least two years with every eyelash and birthday candle blow out) and I exclaimed that it was the ‘best present I’d ever had’. There was the Christmas Day our car  broke down. I’m sure there’s been a turkey disaster at some point. And there’s the year my little cousin got a feather boa, tutu and fairy wand and had my stepfather dancing around the living room with it (pictures of Great-Grandad asleep with the feather boa draped round him somewhere too).

There’s also the year I snuck into my Dad’s house at 1 a.m. on Christmas Eve and my little brother and sister took AGES to notice I was there on Christmas morning. The Monkey came into my room to dump my stocking on my bed (on orders of the stepmother who knew about the surprise) and didn’t notice I was IN it. Finally after being told to look outside at “the snow” from their bedroom windows (there was no snow). One of them suddenly realised that Cassie the Corsa (my car) was in the driveway and ran back into my room. It will always be one of my favourite Christmas Day memories.

2. Are you afraid to speak your own opinion?

I think the world could say that I’m definitely not afraid to voice my opinion! I look at history, and feel like so many things could have been prevented if people had not been afraid to speak up. Right now, I hope that countries will speak up against leaders who are trying to let history repeat itself.

3. Pantone has announced the color of the year for 2016, and for the first time have chosen two shades-rose quartz and serenity. Hmmm…did you know serenity was a color? You can read the thought behind their selection here, but essentially it’s blending the warmth of rose quartz with the tranquility of a very soft shade of blue. So what do you think? Are these colors I’d find in your home or wardrobe? Will you add something in these shades to either place in the new year?

The serenity colour might be in my wardrobe. I’m known for wearing a lot of blues! Rose quartz looks a lot like pink – and I really don’t like pink!

4. If you could be in a Christmas carol, which one would you choose? Why?

Maybe Hark the Herald Angels Sing? It sounds the most joyous. And I like being joyous and singing!!

5. December 9th is National Pastry Day. Will you celebrate? When did you last purchase something from a bakery? What’s your favorite treat that falls under the heading of pastry? Do you make it yourself or buy from the professionals?

I do get bread baked by the supermarket bakery, and there’s a new wee German bakery that’s opened locally but it’s only open on certain days of the week so I’ve not been able to go down there yet. I’d heard great things though! I love cinnabons (thank you USA) and recently my friend’s Mum made some at home when I was visiting her. They were sooooo good!

I’ve never attempted to make pastry, so definitely leaving it to the professionals and practiced folk.

6. When it comes to holiday decorating_____________________________.

Mine is very childlike and simple. I’m not a crafter, and my main aim is to cheer myself up in the long dark winter days and nights. These past two years I’ve worked in Christmas temp jobs all through Christmas so last year I had no decorations up, this year I’ve got a few things up but haven’t managed the tree yet. I have my tree covered in woolly hats, and my two reindeer (Ruaridh and Saija) stand guard at the television! Sometimes the reindeer wear woolly hats too. I also love to have candles lit – I have Christmas spice ones, Christmas tree ones and Frankincense and Myrrh.

IMG_6002

7. When did you last laugh so much it hurt? Explain.
The other night when taking the Guides ice skating at the Edinburgh Christmas Market. One of our youngest Guides fell and brought me and the other Assistant Leader down with her and we were all laughing with each other for a good minute before we could continue on!
8.  Insert your own random thought here.
This year one of our supermarket chains teamed up with holocaust educator, author and illustrator, Judith Kerr to make a special Christmas Mog book to raise funds for charity and used the story for this year’s Christmas advert. I absolutely LOVE the message, and see if you can spot Judith Kerr OBE herself who has a wee cameo in the advert.

One thought on “Christmassy HodgePodge

Leave a Comment

