Getting prepared for Christmas HodgePodge

It’s Wednesday and it’s HodgePodge day. If you click on the hodgepodge logo, it’ll take you to Joyce’s blog where you’ll find links to all the other HodgePodgers today!

1.What’s something you wish you knew how to do, but feel like it’s too late to learn?

I’m not sure there’s anything it’s too late to learn. I would have said gymnastics but given that there are people in their 70s and 80s who have taken it up…!

2. Your least favourite thing to shop for? Why?

Something specific I need. Like today I went to get beige trousers (Build A Bear insist staff have to wear beige or black trousers and white t shirts ) and of course the shop I got my pair in which fit well and are comfortable no longer have them in stock.

Shopping for something you want is much more fun when you can choose and enjoy a treat.

3. How has the celebration of Thanksgiving today changed from when you were growing up?

Well, since I’ve never celebrated Thanksgiving (a holiday I find a bit weird if I’m honest – what is being celebrated because it seems to be people from the UK coming colonising a country and pumpkins and rocks?) so really the only difference is that since last year we seem to have started “celebrating” Black Friday in the UK even though we don’t have Thanksgiving. Why UK, why?!

4. What’s something that when other people see it, reminds them of you? Explain.

I’m guessing the answer would be koalas. Pretty much any time anyone sees a koala video or picture on social media they will tag me in it.  The reason is that my Dad-section of the family call me Koala because they think that’s the animal I’m most like. My sister is Giraffe and my little brother is Monkey (I say little, he’s now 6ft tall).
Stuffed Koala

5. If you could guest star in a TV show, what would it be and why?

I would love to be a guest actor on an Australian soap called Home and Away. Home and Away came to the UK when I was 4 or 5 years old so I grew up with the show and actually got to meet one of the original cast members (who is in the Guinness Book of Records as he is still in the show 28 years later) a few years ago. He was the most lovely guy and so down to earth!

To me Heath Ledger is the nasty Scott who bullied my favourite character Sally, Chris Hemsworth (Thor) is Kim Hyde who was always supposed to be with Kit, Isla Fisher is Shannon who almost drowned and Ryan Kwanten (True Blood) is the lovable Vinnie and I’m sad that he’ll never be reunited with Leah. In fact pretty much every single Australian actor/actress in Hollywood had their start on Home and Away!

I’d also love to be on the USA version of Strictly Come Dancing because it looks much more fun than the original UK version.

6. Have you ever farmed or spent any time on a farm? Are there farm stands in your little corner of the world and do you make it a point to shop there? If so, what item do you particularly like to buy from a roadside stand or farm shop?

Not unless you count visiting a farm to go fruit picking? I’ve done that a few times, and I do love it on a rare sunny summers day in Scotland.

I live in the middle of a city, and have always lived in a city. To get to a farm you generally need a car to drive out to it, so I’m stuck with supermarkets. There isn’t even a greengrocers shop in my part of the city.

7. What’s something you’ve experienced recently that made you feel a sense of awe or wonder?

It would probably be sitting with my friend’s newborn in arms and falling asleep as she lay on my chest. The miracle of human growing and birth never ever gets old.

8.  Insert your own random thought here.

So I ate my first mince pie yesterday. I tried to get as much of my Christmas present and food shopping done before December and after coming home from work freezing cold and hungry (often my shifts mean I don’t get lunch) and the thought of a warm mince pie was just too tempting.

And can I just thank you to EVERYONE who has signed up for Airmail Christmas. Still two more days to sign up. I’m going to be matching participants once I get home from building bears for Black Friday shoppers on Friday morning. And I have my Christmas cards ready!

IMG_3805

One thought on “Getting prepared for Christmas HodgePodge

  1. jodaley says:

    In a nutshell…Thanksgiving commemorates a harvest festival celebrated by the Pilgrims in 1621. I think for most Americans it’s a day to spend with friends or family and count your blessings. It’s also a day where many churches and civic groups reach out and have a special meal for the homeless or those needing food and company. Black Friday (which now starts in early November!) has encroached on the meaning of the day, but for me it’s still all about food and family, a breather before the Christmas hustle and bustle rush in.

    Like

Leave a Comment

