Wednesday HodgePodging – plans and surprises!

1. What’s surprised you most about your life, or about life in general?

As a child and teen, I honestly bought into the belief that if I worked hard, went to university and continued working hard then I would reap the rewards. I never expected to be rich, but I did believe that with hard work and a university degree I’d be able to get a steady job with a living wage that helped me pay a mortgage, run a small car and perhaps go on the occasional vacation. 10 years after graduation and I’ve never been on the living wage, and since 2007 I’ve struggled to find any full-time job (currently I’m doing two minimum wage jobs neither of which have any bearing on my chosen career path) and had to give up on my flat and car a few years ago because I couldn’t afford the rent, bills and the car had so many issues it just wasn’t financially viable (and it leaked rain through the glove compartment onto the passenger seat floor!).

I now get very annoyed when I hear people telling others that if you work hard your dreams will come true. That’s not always the case at all.

2. Among others, these ten words were added to the Oxford English Dictionary this year…awesomesauce, beer o’clock, brain fart, buttdial, cat cafe (apparently this is a real thing), fatberg (gross-read the definition here), fat shame, hangry,Mx (gender neutral), and skippable. 

Your thoughts? In looking over the list, which word do you find most ridiculous? Which word would you never in a million years say out loud? Which word would you be most likely to use in conversation?

Some of those are phrases not words….sigh. oh Oxford…

I have been to a cat café in Paris (I think it was the world’s first) and there is now one in Edinburgh that I’ve heard good things about. I’m most likely to use the phrase ‘brain fart’, I have them all the time!! 🙂

3. Do you like gravy? Is there a food you’d rather not eat unless it comes with gravy? Do you make your own or buy the canned or store-made variety? Turkey and gravy, sausage gravy, mashed potatoes and gravy, country ham and red eye gravy, biscuits and chocolate gravy, pot roast and gravy…which one on the list is your favorite?

I’m mostly vegetarian, so I don’t make gravy. However, occasionally (like at Christmas or back in the days before I worked every Sunday) my Mum would make a roast dinner – usually roast chicken (turkey at Christmas) and it involves gravy. She uses a mixture of gravy granules and meat juices. In UK, most cooking is done from scratch as much as possible – especially when it comes to a good Sunday Roast! Personally I believe you can’t have a good roast without including Yorkshire Puddings and you can’t have yorkshire puddings without gravy.

4. Do you have a plan? Do you need a plan? Have you ever had a plan fall into a trillion pieces? Explain.

My plan was – work hard at school to get the grades I needed to go to university (CHECK!), work hard at part time jobs to help pay my way through university and be able to travel a bit during the holidays (CHECK!), get my university degree (CHECK!), get a job … and this is where it all began to unravel!

Now, I’ve given up on planning anything because I find that my plans never work out. Too much of it relies on opportunities outwith my control. Now my plan is to work as many hours as I get, finish my Master’s degree and hopefully find paid Community Education/Youth Work somewhere in the world!

5. November 19 is National Play Monopoly Day. Do you own the original or some version of the game? Do you enjoy playing Monopoly? How likely is it you’ll play a game of Monopoly on November 19th? Ever been to Atlantic City? Ever taken a ride on a railroad? Is parking in your town free? Last thing you took a chance on?

My Nana and Grandad had the original British version of the game (which is based on London) and I used to play with that. When I was a student in Aberdeen, I had games nights at my flat and my parents gave me the Edinburgh version of Monopoly. We play that at Christmas/New Year every year with my family and I always have to be the banker as apparently I’m the most trustworthy and awake for the role! ha ha!

I haven’t been to Atlantic City, I regularly take trains in central Scotland (it’s how I commute to university in Glasgow from Edinburgh). Parking in Edinburgh city centre is RIDICULOUS, though it is thankfully free on Sundays – but the local council is trying to change that. The last thing I took a chance on – signing up for my Master’s degree last week.

6. A song you like that has the word (or some form of the word) thanks in the title, lyrics, or meaning?

My Old Friend by Sam Amidon. I don’t think Sam Amidon originally wrote the song, I’m not sure who did. But to me it’s a song of gratitude to a friend, with thanking him/her for all the memories shared and everything their friendship gave to the writer.

7. In keeping with this month’s theme of gratitude….what is something you’re taking for granted that when you stop and think about it, you’re grateful for?

Having a warm bed to sleep in and roof over my head.

The fact that I live in a country that has not seen war in 70 years. My grandparents lived in a time where they spent night after night in tin shacks underground as bombs dropped around them, and their younger siblings got sent off to live with strangers 100s of miles from home. Two of my friends had to flee their countries due to civil war and genocide as children.

Yes, I don’t have a job that I’m skilled in or studied years for, but I do at least have some money coming in and that pays for the food I eat and contributing towards costs of my postgraduate education.

I grateful for my friends, who keep me going and make life more fun.

8. Insert your own random thought here.

Please, please, please do sign up for Airmail Christmas if you’d like to participate. The deadline is Thanksgiving, and I hope on (Black) Friday to send out the emails to everyone participating with the addresses of who they are to send a Christmas card to once I’m home from work. All you need to do to sign up is send an e-mail with your postal address details to forrobin_christmasAThotmailDOTcom.  It is a lot of fun, and I know Kylie’s family are really touched that we chose their daughter/sister to honour this year as it will be their first Christmas without her. I’ve actually ordered some Christmas cards from my university friends’ charity which he and his wife set up in honour of their son who died of childhood cancer on Christmas Day 2010 so I’ll be using one of those to send to my airmail christmas person whoever it may be! 🙂

 

8 thoughts on “Wednesday HodgePodging – plans and surprises!

    • BrunetteKoala says:

      Me too! It’s been over a year since the charity I worked for shut down. Sadly they voted in the same right wing government who are making huge cuts to public services so the fight for jobs is even greater now… 😦

      Like

  1. cranberry morning says:

    I’ll remember what you wrote the next time someone says our country’s economy is recovering. That is a joke. And your situation isn’t helped any by the fact that our money is becoming worthless through inflation. I’m sorry to hear of your plight. Many are in the same situation. We need to hold our governments and the bankers accountable.

    Like

  2. jodaley says:

    I forgot about Yorkshire Pudding. They definitely call for gravy! Good luck with your degree and hopefully finding a job you enjoy when you finish the program.

    Like

  3. allstarme says:

    Good luck with the job hunt. I agree that sometimes, even in America, that is totally the case. I have two jobs – technically three – and I cobble together an OK living but if I were on my own, it would probably not be enough. And I have two degrees!

    Like

Leave a Comment

