A Thankful Wednesday HodgePodge

It’s been a long time since I did the HodgePodge myself, but I loved the theme of thanksgiving…so here I am hodgepodging! Hopefully tonight when I get home from Girlguiding duties, I will be able to visit the other HodgePodgers!
1. Besides Thanksgiving, something you’re looking forward to on your November calendar?

We don’t have thanksgiving in Scotland. We were too busy doing the shipping of missionaries and settlers I guess! But there are a few things to look forward to. Firstly, tonight two of my Rangers are receiving their Chief Guide Award  – a prestigious event that gets a party with a specially made cake! Secondly, organising Airmail Christmas (more about that at the end).

2.  If I gave you a thank you card right now who would you send it to and why?

It would be to my friends who generously took me to Glasgow to see one of my favourite bands (Death Cab for Cutie) on their tour on Monday night. But really, I need more than one thank you card. I have friends who are just chock full of amazing, and they all deserve thank you cards!

3. Of the breads listed, which one’s your favorite…bagel, cinnamon, sourdough, garlic, banana, biscuit, pita, Naan, or plain old fashioned white bread?

Ooh. Well. I’m allergic to garlic (I love garlic bread, but it makes me a bit ill), to me a biscuit is definitely not bread and I’m no fan of sourdough. I love a peshwari naan bread, I love bagels, I’d like to try cinnamon bread (never seen that here) but I think I’m going to have to go with banana bread. I actually have some bananas that I’m planning to use to make some this week when I get the chance!

4. What’s something you have in abundance? Is that a good thing?

Friends. It’s definitely a good thing. I’m truly blessed with a ton of really good friends. Many of my friends have children and I’m honoured that they let me be a part of their lives – I tend to indoctrinate them with books and disney films and lesser-known superheroes like DangerMouse.

5. November 5th is National Love Your Red Hair Day. Are there any redheads in your family? Who’s your favorite redhead?

Ha ha! I’m Scottish, so what do you think?

Yep. We have a few redheads in our family. My godson and his two younger siblings are both redheads, and one of my favourite two year olds is a redhead. We also have a day in Edinburgh where if you have ginger hair you can get on any ride or attraction at the Christmas Market for free, and a couple of years ago there was a ‘Ginger Pride’ parade. No joke.

My favourite redhead…hmm…can I say Ginny Weasley? (Actually I love all the Weasleys!) Or does it have to be a ‘real’ person? It’s really tough to know these days because people dye their hair all the time!

6.  The travel website Busbud recently calculated the most Instagrammed spot in every state. Go here to see what made the list where you live. Are you happy with your state’s #1? If not what do you think should be the most photographed spot in your state? Have you snapped a photo there? If you live outside the USA answer as it relates to your state, city or province.

I don’t live in the USA, and the website wouldn’t work on my aging laptop (was taking too long to load!). I’m pretty sure that one of the most instagrammed places will be a view of Edinburgh Castle! I could be wrong mind you…

7. I’m going to try to have something related to gratitude in this spot each week during the month of November. Here’s this week’s question- What’s something you’ve learned about yourself this year that you’re grateful for?

That I could still lead worship. I used to lead worship a lot, both as a lead vocalist and a backing vocallist at church, in youth groups. I hadn’t done it for a few years before I was asked to do it at Surf Camp. I was nervous that I wouldn’t be able to sing or that it would just be awful. But honestly? It was like coming home, and I love singing to and for God. It was lovely to know that I still had the ability to do it. I liked being able to do a bit of ukulele too!

8. Insert your own random thought here.

So I’m really nervous that no one will sign up for Airmail Christmas, and I’m also nervous that so many people will sign up for Airmail Christmas I won’t be able to do it all! This year my friend Rebecca (another ex-HodgePodger!) asked me to take hold of the reigns of this project we’ve done since 2012 where we invite people to sign up to send a Christmas card to a stranger somewhere in the world. This year we’re honouring a lovely young lady from Georgia, and if you’d like to take part, please find the details of how you can do that here.

3 thoughts on “A Thankful Wednesday HodgePodge

  1. wendyj59 says:

    Nice Hodgepodge. You sound like you have a very busy life but are also quite determined so I’m sure you will rise to the challenge of the Airmail Christmas. Good luck with it.

    Like

  2. jodaley says:

    Ooooh, the Peshwari Naan is my absolute favorite! Bread and dessert rolled into one…what’s not to love? I haven’t found that at any of the Indian restaurants we’ve tried in the US. I haven’t given up looking though : ) Nice to see you in the HP!

    Like

Leave a Comment

