Curly Girl Hairdressing Experiences

IMG_5464

It’s been a while since I mentioned my natural haircare experiment. After giving up shampoo and expensive silicone based conditioners that all hairdressers seem to have a sales pitch for, I discovered that my hair doesn’t need washed every second day. There was also noticeable improvement to the health of my scalp (which would usually get worse in the winter months). However, what didn’t change was the insane tangles and knots in my hair which led to me having to straighten my hair during the Christmas period because long curly hair + black cardigan or scarf = giant knot of matted hair.

My hair had been wrecked from very expensive hair dye, and there was only one thing for it…I had to chop it off.

It was with trepidation that I went to a hairdresser recommended by a friend to get my haircut. I discovered they did student discount and went in to speak to them explaining that I was doing some natural haircare experimenting. I didn’t have the confidence to turn up with a jug and some baking soda, so I decided to take in some sulfate free shampoo from the Naked Bodycare range. I did let them use their own conditioner – and a day later my scalp was caked with build up and hair was feeling greasy. However I really liked the haircut. Even my Mum who hates when I have short hair, had no bad word to say about it. They did blow dry it straight, but I was super impressed they did this without a straightener (flat iron)

My hair had begun to grow longer again and was getting straggly, so I booked an appointment again for a trim that would hopefully reshape my hair into a style that is better for when it grows longer. I’d been working the cafe for the previous two days – so my hair hadn’t been washed in three days, had been pulled back in pony tail and hairband. I get sweaty, covered in cream cheese and bacon grease so when I sat down in the hairdressing chair I was surprised when not only did they not bat an eyelid when I pulled out my own shampoo and conditioner to use, they talked about the best cut and how they didn’t want to cut it this way or that way for my natural curl.

Then came the kicker…they asked me how I’d like my hair dried – styled, straightened, curly? I told them to do whatever they liked, and what they decided to do was not to take a brush to it or blow dry it in any way – but to get this giant heat thing to help my hair dry in it’s natural wavy curls.

I won’t lie – I was shocked.

This has never happened.

And for the first time ever, I felt like I was in the hands of a hairdresser who didn’t make me feel like a loser for letting my hair be natural…because she encouraged me to keep it natural.

So thank you Georgia from Charlie Miller. I really, really appreciate you taking the time to treat a curly girl like a curly girl instead of trying to force my curls to be something they just aren’t going to be.

My next challenge: taking care of my hair naturally while away from home at surf camp. This will be the first time that my toiletries bag will not contain dry shampoo, hair serum, shampoo, conditioner and hair mousse but instead a jug, a measuring spoon, conditioner, a bag of quinoa and a small tub of baking soda…! 🙂

Leave a Comment

