Ukulele-ing my way to surf camp…

IMG_3406

Our church doesn’t meet on the first Sunday of every month, instead the little mini community groups meet in different ways. For the Soul Surfers community that usually means meeting at a beach but with Surf Camp a week away and the fact our leaders moved house just six days ago we aren’t meeting today.

For the last few months I’ve been unable to go anyway due to working at weekends.  But because of the way they had to work shifts to cover holidays I’m not working this weekend. It’s the first weekend I’ve had completely off since February and I’m enjoying it by playing my ukulele and this morning listening to the Cerys Matthews show on BBC 6 Music. And choosing “Quote of the Week”, writing posts to schedule while I’m without internet access for a week at Surf Camp. Tonight the Surf Camp band are getting together to have a wee music practice.

I’m both excited and nervous for the camp. It’s the first time I’ve volunteered as a youth worker with a religious organisation in a long time. It’s the first time I’ve been part of a worship team for a long time. It’s the first time I’ve set up a 24-7 prayer room for a long time. Last year I was upset to not be able to a part of it due to having already taken annual leave to do an Erasmus programme in Germany earlier in the year….only to find myself entering the world of redundancy the weekend Surf Camp started. In the end, the lack of internet at the campsite meant me being their Social Media coordinator for the week back in Edinburgh which was great and an interesting challenge as often texts with photos and captions came hours apart despite being sent at the same time. This year, I’ll be in the thick of it. Sharing a room, having someone else cooking food for me, and likely getting very little sleep!

My main prayer? That we get some good weather and waves!

Leave a Comment

