#BookADayUK – Nov 7

Today the prompt is ‘The book you wish you owned as a first edition

And I’m going to cheat slightly…

IMG_2308

The book above is a aged copy of ‘Laura’s Summer Ballet‘. My Mum was given this as a Sunday School prize when she was in primary school. She always planned from that age to grow up, get married and have a daughter called Laura. (why hello!)

I discovered this book on a bookshelf at my grandparents’ house and adopted it as my own when I was in my later years of primary school. I was intrigued by the fact it was one of the few children’s books in their house and it had my (part of) name on it! It is totally coincidence that I wanted to study ballet from a very young age, and when my Mum couldn’t afford to send me to ballet classes, I did what I often did: got a book out the library and tried to teach myself.

(Thank you Usborne Book of Ballet and Dance)

What I would love to have though, is the first book in this series which I think is called ‘Ballet for Laura‘ which is all about how Laura came to the Marina Ballet School in the first place and her first term there. I’ve never been able to find a copy, and would like to read it just out of curiosity.

Plus I love having a complete set of any ‘series’ of books or DVDs I own! 🙂

Are there any books that you’d like to own a first edition of? 

One thought on “#BookADayUK – Nov 7

  1. Rebecca says:

    I think I’ll cheat a bit but I LOVED a book called Milly, Molly and Mandy when I was little. It had a green cover and the three girls were in prams on it. I would love to find the book with that cover but unable to.

    Like

Leave a Comment

