Natural Haircare Experiment: Week 1

Does this count as eco-koala? I don’t know but I’ll stick this under the category anyway! So, anyone who follows me on Instagram or saw my old blog may know that I recently decided to try the “NoPoo’ Method of haircare and binned the sulfates, silicones, alcohol and parabens for more natural products.

Last week I went on a search for spray bottles, and some hair gel and conditioner that was free of the products that are apparently evil to hair and my shower drain has not been appreciative of.

However, can I just say that perhaps the day before a job interview is not the best time to experiment with a brand new haircare routine. I was very lucky that I had a little travel sized bottle of sulfate free shampoo from the body shop leftover from my trip to South Africa five years ago because I had decided to coat my exceptionally dry hair and scalp with almond oil. And then more almond oil. It was a greasy mess, but thankfully a shampoo and a baking soda cleanse and then conditioner my hair was actually calmer than it had been for while on afternoon of said interview.

curly hair

 Yes. That is ‘calm’ on the Brunette Koala crazy hair scale.

We are still in the early days, but I have been super impressed that my hair takes several days longer before it feels greasy and there is no longer any product build up on my scalp. My hair is still very frizzy, and lots of it still comes out when I comb my hair with my fingers but I’m hoping this will eventually change.

The products I’m using are:

  • 1 tablespoon of baking soda mixed with 1 cup of warm water (as shampoo)
  • L’Oreal Sulfate Free Conditioner (I’m not impressed with it, and on the hunt for something that is not L’Oreal, because I’m not a fan of the company anyway, but it was the only conditioner I could find in the shop that met requirements!)
  • I use a lavender spray, made with 4 pints of boiled water mixed with a few drops of lavender essential oil if my hair is a bit flat between washing hair days.
  • I have made my own gel spray with Keracare clear protein styling gel and boiled water. However the spray bottle I got for this tends to shoot the gel at quite a force so at the moment I’m spraying it onto my palms and scrunching it onto wet hair. This is the first hair gel I’ve ever known not to feel super sticky.

At the weekend I also tried a conditioning hair mask. I mixed conditioner, almond oil and a drop of lavender oil together and left it on overnight with my hair wrapped in a microfibre towel so my pillow wouldn’t get oily! I’m not sure if it made any difference, but I did just use the baking soda to wash it out the next morning, conditioned my ends and my hair and scalp were not left at all greasy which I was half expecting to happen. However the smell of the conditioner and lavendar did give me a slight headache and I didn’t get a ton of sleep! I also applied the mask without my glasses on and it was a bit runnier than I expected and as I transferred from my plastic Bob the Builder bowl to hands to hair some of it projectiled across to the door, the wall, the toilet and all down my jeans…

IMG_2538It reminded me a lot of milky baby puke, and when I noticed some on the shoulder, I confess it did bring back some memories.

So that’s how it’s gone so far. I’m hoping to find some better conditioner to use with more botanical products near the beginning of their ingredients list, and the ultimate test will be to see if I can wear a scarf and my hair down (without straightening it) and not end up with my hair as one giant knot within a few hours.

Folks that have gone ‘noPoo’ have you got any fabulous tips or products you’ve found to be helpful for wavy curls?

 

One thought on “Natural Haircare Experiment: Week 1

  1. Holly says:

    I’ve found that (at least for me), the way I wash/rinse and apply gel to my hair makes a pretty big difference to how it turns out.
    I discovered that if I rinse the conditioner out by leaning forwards towards the shower (instead of with my back to it like normal people do, lol!) and scrunching it out with my hands, then turning around with my hair still forwards (away from the water) and scrunching out some of the water (just enough so that it’s not dripping everywhere), it turns out a lot curlier than it does if it gets pulled straight by the stream of the shower, if that makes sense!?
    I also scrunch it dry and apply gel the same way, pretty much always with my head upside down. Yes it looks and feels a bit silly, but surprisingly it works! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

