Tottenham Material

Last week, someone on twitter shared a link to a short film made by an inspirational young woman called Doyin. Doyin is fed up being stereotyped, and has decided to speak out about her frustration in a creative way.

As a Girlguiding leader, I have the privilege of working with a lot of inspirational young women who, like Doyin, are frustrated by elements of the world we are living, and finding creative ways to speak out about it.

As a young person, I still remember a less than inspiring conversation with a staff member from a university that shall remain nameless at a Higher Education fair. Finding out where my friend and I were from, she told us that ‘we probably wouldn’t get on well at xxx university because we weren’t typically the type of social background they looked for in their students‘. Sure enough, it was the only university I applied to that didn’t give me an offer. And I’ve never forgotten that conversation and wondered if it was to do with my postcode more than my academic record.

The media has a lot to answer for, and as a society, we need a better filter for what we absorb from it.

Thank you Doyin for your film. 🙂

Leave a Comment

