Book-A-Day-UK

During October, I discovered ‘Books Are My Bag’ and the #bookadayuk hashtag. Each month a different organisation in the literary world hosts ‘BookADayUK’ and each day they have a prompt which people tweet about. It could be their favourite character in a book, to name their favourite fantasy novel or to name their favourite book that has been made into a film… the possibilities are endless?

This month Headline Books are hosting, so I thought I’d do some of the days here on my blog too. Feel free to join in on twitter (or on your blog too if you wish)!

Book a day nov

I can tell you that my favourite ‘hairy hero’ is Rubeus Hagrid from the Harry Potter series (I can already tell that Harry Potter could feature in a few of these prompts!) and this winter I have several books on my wishlist which means I need to write to Santa for some more Book Tokens.

Here are some of the items on my bookshelf I’ve yet to start reading:

Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Lonesome Traveller by Jack Kerouac

More or Less: Choosing a Lifestyle of Excessive Generosity by Jeff Shinabarger

The Knot by Mark Watson

Philomena by Martin Sixsmith

Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling

The Complaints by Ian Rankin (strangely I’ve read the sequel to this book which is what made me go out and buy this one!)

However, my challenge is that in a couple of weeks I start my final course for university, which (if last year is anything to go by) means I’ll likely not be reading anything for pleasure until mid-January!

At the moment I have several books on the go at various stages of reading:

Careless People: Murder, Mayhem and the Invention of the Great Gatsby by Sarah Churchwell

The Vagenda: A Zero Tolerance Guide to the Media by Holly Baxter & Rhiannon Lucy Cosslett

What Should We Tell our Daughters? by Melissa Benn

Paws and Whiskers by Jacqueline Wilson

I Am Malala by Malala Yousafzai

I really need to spend the next couple of weeks finishing those off before I get consumed by postgraduate life once more! Otherwise, I’ll be having to restart all of them to remember how they began.

Anything on your wishlist for your own bookshelf, or that you are currently getting your nose stuck into?

Sharing book recommendations is what friends of the koala tree do:

Leave a Comment

